CSA: Sharing My Share

For those of you who don’t know I am an avid and active Locavore. That means a person who is working toward a localized food system in a sustainable community. We care a lot not only about where our food comes from but about creating a localized infrastructure to eventually support many different types of local food producers. To see some of what I have written on the subject of local food check out my website at http://www.pure-joy.org (click the writing gallery tab on the left hand margin)

Well I am happy to say that I have finally gotten back with a CSA as of this week! And I am thrilled about it. For those of you who do not know, CSA stands for community supported agriculture and it means buying a “share” of a farm crop in advance and going in weekly to pick up your box. Back in 2009 I worked on a farm with a CSA after being a member for two seasons and becoming very involved in the food culture we have here in Washington. For reasons I won’t go into I have been unable to do a CSA until now. And I did not realize how much I missed it until I went to pick up my box. When I looked inside I got excited! This food can be fun if you know what to do with it and I have been saving up recipes for this moment.

Look at the first weeks fair!

Already I know there will be a summertime minestrone coming from this batch, a summer squash salad, snap peas with dressing, and potato and carrot “pancakes” which yes I am serious and give me a chance they are super good!

Check back this week to see what’s cooking in my kitchen, as I

Share My Share!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

